I decided to spend the day with Father on Saturday. It’s very rare that we spend time with just each other.

Solicitor and BIL were still fuming about Little Cousin. It didn’t help that she’d gone AWOL and stopped answering the front door and switched off her phone.

The do-you-blame-her opinion was not appreciated.

Anyway, Father and I met up for lunch at a local italian restaurant in Chelsea. After ordering our food I launched into a can-you-believe-how-stupid-BIL-and-Solicitor-are-being rant.

“The poor girl! You should have seen her face. I know the whole photo thing was stupid, but the two of them are acting like it’s the end of the world!”

Father frowned and played around with his cutlery.

“Anyway, she’s switched off her phone and refuses to answer the door. Can’t they just leave it alone!”

“No. They can’t.” Father said matter of factly. “I don’t think you understand how they are feeling.”

“What, do you mean?”

“A man has a need to protect those that he cares about. Sisters, daughters, cousins, even. Knowing that there’s a creep out there that violated this young girl must be killing them. If I were in their shoes I’d be the same.”

“It’s not a violation if she agreed to it.” I put in.

“You’re wrong. It is a violation of her trust.”

“At the end of the day, there are some men out there that do that sort of thing. Learn and move on, is what I say.” I said in a logical tone.

Father was silent until the starters arrived. He clasped his hands in front of him and regarded me seriously.

“As a rule, I have tried hard to avoid talking to you about this, but you need to understand how it works. Every man will hate any man who his sister, cousin or daughter is involved with.”

“But you like Solicitor.” I pointed out.

“Most of the time.” Father agreed. “But there are times that I could quite happily beat him to shreds.”

“Why??” I spluttered.

Seriously, they get on so well! Do I live in complete cuckooland that I hadn’t noticed this before??

“When I see him touch you,” Father said simply. “I feel like punching him in the face.”

I stared at him in shock. Father is not a violent man. Being of Spanish decent, he can be seen as passionate when he’s angry at times, but never violent.

“But you won’t.” I said, with a hint of worry.

“Of course not!” He laughed. “I’m just saying that every man has these feelings, even if they like the guy that is with their sister or daughter. Now imagine how a man would feel when he finds out about a complete asshole that took advantage.”

I thought about it for a few minutes.

“Oh.” I said finally. “I think I understand.”

We tucked into out starters.

“So you’ve felt like punching all of my boyfriends?” I asked with a smile.

“Every single one.” Father nodded.

“Even Mick?” I asked cheekily.

Mick was my primary school boyfriend. We were 5 years old and our relationship consisted of holding hands for a few seconds. Letting go and wiping them on our tops.

“Especially Mick.” Father said. “The little bastard!”

