Jealousy is often paired with insecurity. In some cases this is true i.e. a jealous girlfriend checking her boyfriend’s text messages, emails, facebook for any hint that his eyes may be straying.

I also believe that no matter how secure a person is, jealousy still manages to surface….

Last night Solicitor and I met up at a restaurant in central london. He had an early evening meeting with a client and I couldn’t be bothered to cook.

As we ordered our starters, I felt a tap on my shoulder. Solicitor’s eyes darkened as he observed the blond hunk smiling down at me.

“Oh my God, Elise! It’s been so long.”

I looked up and beamed.

“Sam?” I stood up and gave him a big hug. “How are you?”

We stood apart and observed subtle changes in each other.

“Oh Sam this is my husband.”

Sam smiled politely and shook Solicitor’s hand.

“Married huh?” He smiled at me cheekily. “Congrats.”

“What about you?”

“Na, I’m still playing the field.” He shoved his hands in his pocket and shot me another smile. “Anyway, I leave you guys to it. Have a good night.”

“Nice to see you, Sam.”

As I sat back down Solicitor raised his eyebrows in question.

“Sam and I went to school together.” I told him.

“Were you an item?”

I laughed. “No! Me and Sam?!”

“It’s not so hard to believe.”

“No, you don’t know Sam.” I carried on merrily. “He was such a joker. Always taking the piss.”

“Nothing happened between you?” Solicitor prompted again.

“Well we kissed once.” I admitted. “We were at a house party, it was my friend Louise’s birthday. A little too much Malibu.”

I have no idea why I felt guilty at that point, but suddenly I wanted to erase what I’d said.

“Just one kiss?” Solicitor asked. He kept his tone light, but I saw his eyes darken a little.

“God, we were kids. Nothing major happened!” I said, suddenly a little irritated. Where the hell were those starters?!

He let it go. For a while.

We continued with dinner and once we began talking about our day, the Sam incident was forgotten. We talked and laughed with ease.

When we got home the conversation was brought up again.

“Was Sam your first kiss?” Solicitor asked, as I slipped out of my jacket.

“Will you let it go!” I snapped. “Do I interrogate you on all of the people who you’ve had any sort of contact with? You spend two seconds with a guy that I kissed and you get all jealous. I’ve spent hours in the company of your ex! You don’t hear me asking you for all of the details!”

“He was, wasn’t he?” Solicitor prompted, ignoring my outburst. “He’s the guy that you told me about. The guy at the party. Under the stairs?”

“If you want to know that badly, then yes. He was. Are you satisfied?”

I glared at him for a few seconds in the dimly lit hallway.

“You’re sexy, when your angry.” He said with a small smile. He kissed me fully on the lips, expertly using his teeth and his tongue, his hands lacing through my hair.

Even after years of being with him, one kiss can still completely blow my mind.

I moaned slightly when he stepped back. He laughed quietly. “Better than Sam?” He teased.

I narrowed my eyes furiously. He kissed me to make a point?

“No.” I lied tauntingly.

“Liar.” He whispered, pushing me back firmly against the wall. I clutched at his dark hair and whimpered as he dipped his face to the sensitive spot on my neck.

I guess a small amount of jealousy is good…

